Writer’s Block Isn’t Really What You Think, Version #73

Recently I’ve been nervous about the scene I’m going to start writing today. I didn’t know what I was going to write, and I thought the reason I didn’t know was that a significant chunk of the discussion was going to center around some RL warfare technologies with which I have only a glancing acquaintance. But then I got there yesterday, and tried to write the lead-in, so I’d have something to come back to after I’d boned up on the technical stuff…and discovered the Real Problem.

The war I’m writing about is erupting like popcorn thunderstorms in a variety of locations, which is how rebellions typically will. In each eruption, the motivations of the people who rebel are different. People don’t wake up in the morning and say, “Hm, I’ve had enough, I think it’s time for a rebellion”: not unless they’re well-fed intellectuals with too much time on their hands. When the peasants revolt, it’s because they believe they’re out of other options.

I knew why the other locus of rebellion I’m writing about had gone over the cliff. I finally realized, yesterday, I couldn’t answer that question for the present rebellion.

Once I finally began addressing that question, I found a huge reservoir of thematic deliciousness waiting for me. Now I’m SO EXCITED to write this scene, this chapter, this thread–and the technical brushing-up I need to do is no more than a minor detour in my head.

Same old story: the thing I think is the problem is just the thing my left brain can identify. The reason my right brain is really holding me up is that I haven’t done the deep plotting work.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Heart of Darkness, writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Writer’s Block Isn’t Really What You Think, Version #73”

  1. darkcargo Says:

    That’s interesting. I do the same thing. I get skeered to work on a project because some technical issue is holding me up: I have to sit down and think about it, and even tho there’s no physical result, breaking thru that wall is good time. It’s puzzle-solving.


    • And the anxiety arises because the project *matters* to you. Because it is one of your art forms. I chose the hardest work I know of; I’m anxious about work a significant amount of the time. But the rewards of breaking down the puzzle are directly proportionate to the difficulty.

      I’m just a rat in Skinner’s lab…


Leave a Reply

