Compton Crook Award Finalist

Yesterday afternoon, in the midst of RavenCon and my ongoing bewilderment, I received notification that my novel, The Shadow of the Sun, is a finalist for the 2012 Compton Crook Award. (!!) as you may recall from earlier squee,

The Compton Crook Award is presented to the best first novel of the year written by a single author: collaborations are not eligible: in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc., at their annual Baltimore-area science fiction convention, Balticon, held on Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore, MD area each year.

I wish I could find a list of this year’s finalists, because i’ve no doubt they should be on my radar, but the BSFS doesn’t seem to publish that list in advance of the award. So I’ll just have to check back later, and I’ll let you know what I find.

Meanwhile I can’t wait for Balticon. If you’re within range of Baltimore, I hope you’ll come out and see me there.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Shadow of the Sun

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Compton Crook Award Finalist”

  1. Will McIntosh Says:

    Hi Barbara,

    I’ve been looking for a list as well! My novel Soft Apocalypse is a nominee. Best of luck to you!

    Will McIntosh


  2. Good luck to you, too! I’m looking forward to finding out about all these up-and-coming authors. Will you be at Balticon?


Leave a Reply

