Heading out to ConCarolinas

Today I’m loading up the car for a trip to Charlotte, NC: for my first visit to ConCarolinas. This looks like it’s going to be tremendous fun! Very active Facebook group, a bunch of terrific guests and cool parties, and I get to sit in on some really cool panels. I’ll actually be moderating a couple of them.

Here are the panels I’m participating in:

How to Write a Sex Scene–Friday 11PM
This one will be hosted by Davey Beauchamp, so I know it’s going to be fantastic fun. Other members of the panel include Mason Lavin, Josiah W English, Jana Oliver, and Linda Walsh. Rose petals and scented candles optional…

Learning to Write–Saturday 3PM
I’m moderating this one. We’ll be talking with authors Rachel A. Aaron, Glenda C. Finkelstein, Bobby Nash, Carrie Ryan, Allen Wold, and Debra Killeen, which is a nice diverse group with a variety of backgrounds. I’m planning to allow plenty of time for audience Q&A, so join us here to get your answers questioned.

The Red Pen–Sunday 12PM
This is slated as a panel in which editors discuss what they look for in submissions and how they work. Teresa Bane is moderating, and she’s a fanstastic moderator, so I know this will be good. I’ll be sitting with Mason Lavin, Wendy S. Delmater, and Edward McKeown while Teresa exercises crowd control over the notorious opinionation (is that a word? It is now. How ironic to have this happen while I’m wearing my Editor hat.) of a group of editors.

The Future of Fantastic Fiction–Sunday 3PM
Once again I’m moderating, and sitting with another nicely-diverse group: Wendy S. Delmater, Rachel A. Aaron, and David B Wood. We’ll be discussing where the market may be taking genre fiction.

I’ll have a table in the Authors Alley; when I can’t be there, Mark will be. Sometimes he looks fierce, but he’s a big teddy bear, and he’s still new to the convention scene, so if you’re at the con, please stop by and smile at him. We’ll have books by all the Mercury Retrograde authors on hand.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: cons

One Comment on “Heading out to ConCarolinas”

  1. Dani Says:

    What fun panels. I wish I were in the audience to listen! Have fun, Barbara.


Leave a Reply

