Interview on the Pendragon Variety podcast

A couple weeks ago, I had the pleasure of getting up early to talk with the Ladies Pendragon of the Pendragon Variety podcast about publishing, writing, and a variety of other geekish topics. Thanks to the miracles of Skype and podcasting, we were all able to do the interview in our pajamas, with favorite hot morning beverages in hand. Well, at least most of us did: Adryn lives in Japan, and it was evening for her.

We had a great conversation! We covered a lot of very interesting territory, discussing the publishing industry, small press, and the choices available to writers interested in publishing their work; promotion, publicity, and distribution for books; the experience of working with an editor before a book goes to press (spoiler: my editor is Awesome); and a variety of other topics of particular interest to writers of SFF.

I met Scribe and Raven at StellarCon, where they were recording panel discussions and interviews of interest to SFF writers; since then I’ve enjoyed a few of their episodes, which blend practical information for writers with discussions of their writing journeys and the things they’re learning along the way. If you’re a SFF writer, you owe it to yourself to check the Pendragon Variety podcast out. Besides, how else are you going to get to listen to me talk shop for an hour without running into people dressed like Storm Troopers?

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. 😉

Click through and listen below:

Pendragon Variety –Episode 30–Interview with Barbara Friend Ish

Explore posts in the same categories: interviews

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Interview on the Pendragon Variety podcast”


  1. We had a lovely time as well, Barbara! And I think I would probably end up in a stormtrooper outfit if I had the space to make the necessary vacuum table. 🙂

    We’d love to have you back some time.


    • When I get to a con, and I spot my first storm trooper, a sense of peace descends upon me. Mama, I’m home. 🙂

      I’d love to chat with you again. Name the time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

