Genre-bending works: favorites and recommendations

Last week, John DeNardo asked me to contribute to SF Signal’s Mind Meld feature, which entertains a single question with a group of genre luminaries each week. I’ve been enjoying the Mind Meld feature for a long time, so naturally I was beyond delighted to be asked to play–but what excited me even more was this week’s question: What are your favorite genre-bending works?

I’m all about genre bending. Actually rule-bending in general. Rules and definitions just make me think about what they’re designed to exclude.

But I digress, as usual. The point: I found this question so compelling that I began to talk to other people about it even before I wrote my post. Last weekend, at the book launch (actually the after-party) for Leona Wisoker’s fabulous Secrets of the Sands, the very knowledgeable cadre of fans and artists who had gathered to celebrate fielded a list of favorites that barely even overlapped mine. Though I’d intended to use their suggestions to augment my list for Mind Meld, I quickly realized John would have to give me control of the whole column to accommodate everything. So I answered his question, discussing a few of my favorite genre-bending works–and will share the responses of the luminaries who weighed in at Leona’s after-party here. Once the Mind Meld post goes live on SF Signal, I’ll link to it here.

And I’m adding the recommendations that spoke to me to my ever-growing TBR shelf on Goodreads.

Crowd favorites for genre-bending include:

Fred Saberhagen’s Dracula Series. It may be worth noting that what sprang to mind was the sixth of the series, but I have included the link to the series opening.

Mercedes Lackey/Roberta Gellis: This Scepter’d Isle

David Weber/Linda Evans: Hell’s Gate, also the first of a series.

Larry Niven/Steven Barnes: Dream Park–the first of a series.

.

Update: So many excellent ideas in the Mind Meld post. My to-read list has grown even longer. And when I came back here I realized I had typed “SF Site” rather than “SF Signal” in the original post.

**FACEPALM**

I’ve fixed it, but I’ll be blushing about this ridiculous error for days. I am a great admirer of both sites and both editorial teams; I choose to blame post-launch fatigue for my error…but we all know that’s really no excuse.

Explore posts in the same categories: just for fun, reading

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Genre-bending works: favorites and recommendations”


  1. […] our own Barbara Friend Ish, who had so much fun with the question that her response overflowed to her personal blog. Think you can read all the responses on SF Signal and not find something new and exciting? We […]


Leave a Reply

