The Jagged Edge of Forever

Isn’t that a great title? That is the name of the newest of Rev. John Cunyus’s highly-respected translations from the original St. Jerome Biblical texts. I have the first-ever copy here on my desk, and it’s blowing me away. Look at this awesome cover:

jagged_edge_front_-295x437

jagged_edge_back-285x441

Full disclosure: John and I went to college together. As so often happened with our generation, we lost touch until the miracle of Facebook reunited us. We are better friends today. I wish all clergy were like him.

Bragging: John dedicated this volume to me. Little ‘ol me. I am quite overwhelmed.

The coolest thing about this series, IMO, is the scholarliness John brings to the work. For those of you who aren’t Bible geeks (and I’m not, but I can learn) the St. Jerome texts are considered the authoritative translations from the original Aramaic Torah/Old Testament (choose the label you like) into Latin. Evidently St. Jerome studied with the rabbis in order to develop sufficient mastery of Aramaic to do the texts justice.

(Aramaic is a hard language. Rachael speaks Hebrew but is more often than not baffled by Aramaic.)

John, a Latin scholar, is doing what may turn out to be the authoritative translations of St. Jerome’s work.

There is, as you may have deduced already, a whole series of these translations, with more on the way. If you are interested in reading texts in English that have been translated as faithfully and with as little bias as the translators could manage, you should check them out.

Explore posts in the same categories: publishing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Jagged Edge of Forever”


  1. Your post says that Jerome translated from the Aramaic Old Testament. While there are small sections of the Old Testament in Aramaic, almost all of it was written in Hebrew, which is what Jerome translated from. But you are right – Jerome’s translation was very good, he knew Hebrew extremely well, and he almost certainly must have had close study with Jews to know the meanings of words & phrases, as well as to understand the Hebrew without vowel points. Hebrew and Aramaic are closely related, so one is no harder than the other.


    • Oh! Thanks for straightening me out! I was relating what I thought I remembered from conversations with the author, rather than checking my facts. Bad blogger! Rest assured Rev. Cunyus is far better informed on these topics than I.


Leave a Reply

