Compton Crook Nomination

Color me stunned! I’ve been nominated for the Compton Crook Award for The Shadow of the Sun. I actually received the notification last week, but in all the Dragon*Con mayhem I never got a chance to post here. And, I think, I just had to reel a bit, because this is a huge honor–and completely unexpected.

From their website:

The Compton Crook Award is presented to the best first novel of the year written by a single author: collaborations are not eligible: in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc., at their annual Baltimore-area science fiction convention, Balticon, held on Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore, MD area each year.

So what happens now?

The members of the award committee read the books that have been nominated. The committee will present a short-list of finalists to the BSFS membership early in March 2012.  The membership then has a month to read any books they’ve missed and make their final scores.  The winner is known early in April but kept from the membership in general, so they will be surprised at the convention when the winner is announced.

It’s a cliche, but it’s true: it’s a huge honor just to have been nominated for the award, and I’m beyond thrilled. (And everyone who is nominated hopes to win!)

As is the norm with these things, Mercury Retrograde will be providing the BSFS with a number of copies of The Shadow of the Sun, in Trade Paper and eBook formats; so if you’re a member, this may be your chance to lay hands on a free copy.

In any event, keep your fingers crossed for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Shadow of the Sun

12 Comments on “Compton Crook Nomination”


  1. Congratulations, Barbara! That’s awesome.


  2. Crossed! Amd my toes, and my eyes…


  3. [...] her blog, Barbara had this to say: It’s a cliche, but it’s true: it’s a huge honor just to [...]


  4. I am so happy for you, Barbara. Congratulations indeed. And, as already stated, fingers officially crossed.

  5. Anthony Says:

    I could say good luck but why bothern when you don’t really need it? ;)

    So instead, good skill!


  6. LOL! Totally need luck on this one! But thank you. :)


  7. Hi, Barbara. Just wanted to say thanks for ‘liking’ my post this morning. I also want to let you know that it is not your book I was speaking of. It is one I was already reading when yours. came into my hand. My ‘to do’ list is long this week, but I am eying SHADOW hungrily.

    P.S. Love the young bull/old bull story.


  8. Thanks, Paula! I am very interested in what comes out of comments on that post.

    But I am deeply concerned by this evidence that there may be things in the universe which have nothing whatsoever to do with me. Disturbed, even.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,136 other followers

